TLL: Title Loan Companies: The license authorizes the holder to engage in the business of making or servicing title loans by means of a loan of money to a consumer secured by bailment of a certificate of title to a motor vehicle, except such loan made by a person licensed under Chapter 516, Chapter 520, Chapter 655, Chapter 657, Chapter 658, Chapter 660, Chapter 663, Chapter 665, or Chapter 667, Florida Statutes or a person who complies with Chapter 687.03, Florida Statutes.
Each location is treated as an independent license and there are no branches.
Effective 10/01/00, Chapter 537, Florida.Statutes, the Florida Title Loan Act, requires licensure by the Office of Financial Regulation to act as a Title Loan Lender.
Under the Florida Title Loan Act, a title loan lender may charge a maximum interest rate of 30 percent per annum computed on the first $2,000 of the principal amount, 24 percent per annum on that part of the principal amount exceeding $2,000 and not exceeding $3,000, and 18 percent per annum on that part of the principal amount exceeding 3,000.
The maturity date of the title loan agreement, which shall be 30 days after the date the title loan agreement, is executed by the title loan lender and the borrower.
A title loan agreement may be extended for one or more 30-day periods by mutual consent of the title loan lender and the borrower. Each extension of a title loan agreement shall be executed in a separate extension agreement each of which shall comply with the requirements for executing a title loan agreement as provided in this act. The interest rate charged in any title loan extension agreement shall not exceed the interest rate charged in the related title loan agreement. A title loan lender may not capitalize in any title loan extension agreement any unpaid interest due on the related title loan agreement or any subsequent extensions to that title loan agreement.
Click here for required information on application.
Surety Bond requirement pursuant to Chapter 537.005, Florida Statutes refer to the statutes below for more information.
Maintaining or Renewing License
Filings to maintain, amend and renew the license are completed online via online services.
**Refer to Chapter 537.004(4), Florida Statutes for the associated renewal fees.
Click here for information regarding recordkeeping for Title Loan Lenders.
** Above are only some of the requirements of a licensee under Chapter
537, Florida Statutes and Rule
69V-45, Florida Administrative Code. To review all requirements of a licensee, please access Chapter 537, Florida Statutes and Rule 69V-45, Florida Administrative Code.